Let’s Get Some (Vegan) Carbs!

Now that I’ve addressed the “Starbs” component of the site name, it’s time to get into the carbs! Today I’ll show you a standard what-I-eat-in-a-day on days where I need to stay home!

Pre-Breakfast Smoothie – 8am 
IMG_6200
I always try to start my morning with a nice smoothie. Sometimes its green, but this morning I didn’t happen to have any spinach on hand, so it was just:
4 ripe Bananas
1/4 cup Pineapple
1/4 cup Mango
3 Strawberries
1 tsp. Chia Seeds
A splash of water

*Personally, I don’t like creamy smoothies, so I rarely add milk to smoothies.

Breakfast – Whole Wheat Vegan Banana Pancakes – 11am
IMG_6171.JPG
Let me just say this is my FAVOURITE breakfast option. It’s soooo good and so easy to make. I start with this Coyote pancake mix (which is vegan, although some of the brand’s other pancake mixes do contain dairy, so be careful), 2 ripe bananas, and some almond milk.
IMG_6172
I don’t measure the ingredients, but rather look for the consistency to be just right. Then I add in a teaspoon of flax seeds and a teaspoon of chia seeds. Once the mix is ready, I add some coconut oil to a pan and fry them up. I don’t measure the mix, because these keep pretty well over night, so  I just eat the extras tomorrow.


I then top my pancakes with some maple syrup, and today I added some granola with almonds, raisins, and shreds of coconut. Dark chocolate, nuts, raspberries, agave, apple slices, cinnamon, and peanut butter all make for great additions though!

Lunch – Fruit – 1:30pm

IMG_6179.JPG

When I start feeling hungry again, I typically try to fill up on fruit. In the summer I love cut up melon, as well as kiwis and mangoes. Today I had 1/4 of a large watermelon and a branch(?), bunch(?) of grapes while I did some work.

Coffee Break – 3pm
IMG_6169
I’m typically a morning coffee girl, or an after-work coffee girl – today I was the latter. Since I had a free drink, I opted for a pricier drink: a venti iced chai tea latte, with almond milk, light ice, and 2 shots of espresso. It’s so flavourful, with the chai, almond, and espresso flavours blending so nicely together. Definitely more of a “fall” palette, but I enjoy this one year round.

Dinner – Potatoes, Zucchini, and Asparagus – 7pm
IMG_6185
Tonight for dinner, I had some potatoes and veggies (but unfortunately I ate half of the food before I remembered that I was supposed to be photographing my meals, so… yeah).

I started with 2 large potatoes, chopped them into wedges, and seasoned them with salt, pepper, garlic, and cayenne pepper. Then I lightly greased a baking tray with grapeseed oil and put them in the oven for 40 minutes at 400 degrees, before broiling them on high for 5 minutes so they get nice and crispy!

For the other veggies, I used half of a zucchini and about 10 sprigs of asparagus, cut in halves. I used a similar seasoning blend (less salt and less cayenne though) and put them in the oven over top of the potatoes for the last 15 minutes.

Once they were all done, I prepped them on a plate. What is not pictured are the sauces I used for the potato wedges: some ketchup and sweet chilli sauce. Yum!

And that’s what I eat during a typical homebody day! I hope you enjoyed! 🙂

Leave a Reply

